Wike tasks new commissioners on seamless handover in 2023

By Chris Ezeonoh

Ahead of the terminal date of the Nyesom Wike-led administration in Rivers State on May 29, 2023, the governor has tasked the 18 new commissioners he swore into office on Wednesday to begin from their first day in office to compile their handover notes for the incoming administration.

The governor who gave the directive at the swearing-in ceremony held at the Executive Council Chambers of Government House, Port Harcourt underscored the resolve of his administration to finish strong and do a proper handover to his successor on 28th May 2023.

Governor Wike maintained that every member of the State Executive Council must recommit themselves to the tasks assigned to them and achieve desired results.

He observed that because some members of the State Executive Council do not appreciate the enormity of the task given to them, they take to sycophancy while abandoning their duties.

“This is the last lap of our administration. We have only 7 months to end the tenure of this administration. It is very important for you to understand that you have to double your efforts to make sure that what we have started will be completed.”

The State Chief Executive emphasized the need for a proper handover to be done to the succeeding administration in good time. He, therefore charged the new commissioners and those already in the cabinet to begin the compilation of necessary data so that the reports will be ready in good time.

“Make sure that you start preparing your handover note, not waiting for the dying minute of the last week. You already know we must hand over the latest by 28th May 2023.

Read Also:

“29th May 2023 is swearing in, so we will fully hand over on the 28th and then do ceremony of swearing in of the next governor on the 29th May 2023.”

He charged the new commissioners to maximise the opportunity given to them to serve the State diligently for the sake of posterity.

“So, if you know you’re not committed to serve the State, you better withdraw”, he demanded.

The commissioners sworn in are: Prof. Princewill Chike, Hon. Jacobson Nbina, Mr. Ndubuisi Okere, Mrs Inime Aguma, Charles Amadi, Mrs. Tonye Oniyinde Briggs, Mr. Ben Daminabo, Mr. Chris Finebone, Austin Ben Chioma.

Others include, Mr. Uchechukwu Nwafor, Dr. Fred Barivule Kpakol, Emenike Oke, Mr. Prince Ohia, Prof. Kaniye Ebeku, Mr. Ezekiel Agri, Mrs. Ukiel Oyaghiri , Hon. Damiete Herbert Miller and Hon Emeka Onowu.

Click on The Trumpet and follow us on our Twitter page for more:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.