Salah named PFA Player of the Year

by Oviri Kelvin, Sports Editor, Abuja

Liverpool forward and Egyptian prodigy Mohamed Salah has been named the 2022 PFA Players’ Player of the Year, beating fellow contender and Manchester City Kevin De Bruyne to clinch it.

Salah wins it for the second time having carted home the 2018’s edition.

The 29-year-old, who also won the FWA Footballer of the Year award, has only one season left in Liverpool until he agrees to sign a new one.

Salah, finished the 2021-22 season remarkably, emerging as the league’s joint-top goalscorer with Tottenham Son Heung-Min.

The Liverpool ace forward, who plays from the right flank also beat Cristiano Ronaldo, Harry Kane and team-mates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane to win the honour.

The former Roma player voted part of the 2022 PFA Premier League team of the year, joined Liverpool five years ago and has established himself as a key figure for Jurgen Klopp’s side.

Read Also: Kwibuka T20: Nigeria beat Brazil in opening fixture

Although, Tottenham’s Son Heung-Min shared the Golden Boot with the Egyptian, the South Korean did not make the shortlist or the best XI of English Premier League team for 2021-22 season.

For the record, Salah scored 23 goals in the EPL and clocked 14 assists during the 2021/22 season, comprising a hat-trick and assist at Old Trafford as Liverpool plummeted rivals Manchester United 5-0.

Liverpool forward led the season’s campaign for a club quadruple that resulted in an FA Cup and Carabao Cup double having lost the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) final against Senegal in Cameroon.

“It’s a great honour to win a trophy, individual or collective and this one is big so, very happy and very proud of that,” said Salah.

“This one is a really good one to win, especially because it’s voted by players. It shows you that you’ve worked really hard and you get what you worked for.

“I have my room with trophies in a cabinet and I made sure that I had another space for one more. I always keep space and just try to imagine that the trophies are going to come.

“When you get older, you feel like you’re more stable and you know exactly what you want from football so I’m just trying to really chill and help the team.

“That’s why I think I also won the playmaker because it’s like you’re more aware of the game, so you just try to make the people next to you better and try to make yourself better as well,” he added.

PFA members vote for the winners of each award, choosing the players they feel have put in the best performances all year. Salah is now one of only nine players in history to have won two PFA Players’ Player trophies, joining Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Gareth Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lucy Bronze, Kevin De Bruyne and Fran Kirby; according to a report by Sky Sports.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button