NCDC confirms monkeypox in 15 states

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), yesterday, confirmed 15 new confirmed positive cases of monkeypox in Epi Week 29 from 10 states – Ondo (three); Taraba (two); Lagos (two); Bayelsa (two); Rivers (one); Kogi (one); Imo (one); Delta (one); Anambra (one) and Abia (one).

The latest Update on Monkeypox in Nigeria published by the centre showed that there were 19 new suspected cases reported in the week under review, spanning July 18 to 24, from 12 states, namely Ondo (four); Bayelsa (three); Taraba (two); Lagos (two); Rivers (one); Kogi (one); Kano (one); Imo (one); Delta (one); Anambra (one); Akwa Ibom (one) and Abia (one).

It noted: “From January 1 to July 24, 2022, there have (89 males, 44 females) from 26 states – Lagos, 17; Adamawa, 11; Delta, 11; Rivers, 10; Bayelsa, 10; Ondo, nine and Edo, eight.

“Others are Nasarawa (seven); Plateau (six); Federal Capital Territory (five); Anambra (five); Taraba (five); Imo (four); Cross River (three); Kwara (three); Borno (three); Oyo (three) and Kano (two), Katsina (two), Gombe (two), Kogi (two), Niger (one).

“The rest consists of Ogun (one); Bauchi (one); Akwa Ibom (one) and Abia (one).

Read Also: Obaseki hails Edo workers for industrial harmony

“Three deaths were recorded from three states – Delta (one); Lagos (one) and Ondo (one). Overall, since the re-emergence of monkeypox in September 2017 and up to July 24, 2022, a total of 869 suspected cases have been reported from 35 states.”

The centre continued: “Of these 869 suspected cases, there have been 359 (41.3 per cent) confirmed (237 males, 122 females) from 30 states – Rivers (62); Bayelsa (53); Lagos (47); Delta (40); Edo (18); Cross River (17); Imo (12); FCT (11); Adamawa (11); Ondo (nine); Nasarawa (nine); Oyo (nine); Plateau (nine); Akwa Ibom (eight); Anambra (seven); Taraba (five); Enugu (four); Abia (four); Kwara (three); Borno (three); Benue (two); Ekiti (two); Kano (two); Niger (two); Ogun (two); Katsina (two); Gombe (two); Kogi (two); Ebonyi (one) and Bauchi (one).

“In addition, from September 2017 to July 24, 2022, a total of eleven (11) deaths have been recorded (CFR= 3.0 per cent) in eight states – Lagos (three); Edo (two); Imo (one); Cross River (one); FCT (one); Rivers (one), Undo (one) and Delta (one).

“The ongoing efforts to strengthen surveillance at national and sub-national levels increased awareness from global news headlines and our investments in risk communication and community engagement (RCCE) have contributed in part or whole to this observed increase in cases, which we have seen this year. The NCDC will continue to monitor the situation even as we sustain ongoing response efforts.”

Click on The Trumpet and follow us on our Twitter page for more:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.