JUST IN: Buhari Swears in Six National INEC Commissioners

By Paul Michael, Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday sworn in six newly appointed national commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commissioners (INEC).

Buhari performed the swearing in ceremony shortly before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting at the presidential villa, Abuja.

The Commissioners that took the oat of office are Mallam Mohammed Haruna from Niger State: Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu from Delta; Ukaegbu Kenneth Nnamdi from Abia state; Major General A. B Alkali (Rtd) from Adamawa; Prof. Rhoda Gumus from Bayelsa state, and Mr. Sam Olemekun from Ondo state.

Read Also: BREAKING: Doctor Kidnapped from Theatre in Akwa Ibom

Present to witness the event were the President of the Senate, Dr. Ahmad Lawan; the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, and the INEC Chairman Mahmood Yakubu.

The Commissioners were cleared for appointment by the Senate on February 22, 2022.

Four of them are newly appointed while the other two are on reappointment.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.