Buhari seeks confirmation of seven ministerial nominees

Stories by Tunde Joshua

President Muhammadu Buhari has taken steps to replace cabinet ministers that resigned their appointments to seek electoral positions.

The president on Tuesday sent to the Senate, names of seven persons for confirmation as ministers.

Those who resigned their appointments to contest the presidential primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC) include former ministers Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi of Transportation, Ogbonmaya Onu (Science and Technology), Emeka Nwajuiba (Education), Godswill Akpabio (Niger Delta Affairs), Tayo Alasoadura (Niger Delta Affairs minister of state) and Damson Ogar (Mines Enyinnaya Abaribe and Steel).

Read Also: Reconstituting NDDC Board: Matters arising

The confirmation request was contained in a letter addressed to Senate President Ahmad Lawan and read on the floor at the start of plenary on Tuesday, The Trumpet gathered.

Buhari, in the letter, explained that the confirmation request was in accordance with the provisions of Section 147 subsection 2 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

The nominees for confirmation include: Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh – Abia State; Umana Okon Umana – Akwa Ibom State; Ekumankama Joseph NkamaEbonyi State; and Goodluck Nana Opiah – Imo State. Others are Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub – Kano State; Ademola Adewole Adegoroye – Ondo State; and Odum Odi – Rivers State.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button