Algeria 2023: Akuneto, Madu, 33 others invited to national team camp for Ghana clash

By Oviri Kelvin, Sports Editor

Head Coach of the home-based Super Eagles Salisu Yusuf has invited Chijioke Akuneto, Isa Ali and 33 others to the Super Eagles B camp ahead of the 2023 CHAN qualifiers in a few weeks’ time.

Akuneto made the list following his exploits in last season’s Nigeria Professional Football League as the highest goalscorer.

Also on the list is goalkeeper Adeyinka Adewale, who was in the Super Eagles A team roster for the international friendly games vs Mexico and Ecuador as well as the two Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches against Sierra Leone and Sao Tome and Principe in June 2022.

Also on the list of invited players are Katsina United FC defender Sani Faisal, Akwa United midfielder Babatunde Bello, Enyimba Fc goalkeeper Ojo Olorunleke and Rivers United midfielder Chiamaka Madu. All four were part of the Super Eagles squad for the international friendlies vs Mexico and Ecuador.

Nathaniel Nwosi gets a call-up for his excellent performance in goal for the Flying Eagles as they won the WAFU B U20 Cup in Niger Republic in May.

Alongside Chijioke Akuneto, eight other Rivers United NPFL title-winning squad members made the 35-man list.

All invited players are expected to report at the Bolton White Apartments in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, on Wednesday, 10th August, 2022.

Read Also:

Nigeria will play Ghana in Accra on Sunday, 28th August, with the return leg to be held at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, on Saturday, 3rd September.

The winner on aggregate will qualify for the 7th African Nations Championship to be hosted by Algeria in 2023.

Nigeria were bronze medalists in South Africa in 2014 before emerging as runners-up in Morroco 2018.

Nigeria did not qualify for the 2021 Africa Nations Championship hosted by Cameroon, a disappointment Coach Salisu Yusuf will hope to rectify when they take on Ghana in 20 days’ time.


Goalkeepers: Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Adeyinka Adewale (Akwa
United); Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba FC); Nathaniel Nwosu (Flying Eagles)

Defenders: Tope Olusesi (Rangers Int’l); Kazie Enyinnaya (Rivers United); Sani Faisal (Katsina United); Samson Gbadebo (Akwa United); Ebube Duru (Rivers United); Christopher Nwaeze (Akwa United); Isa Ali (Remo Stars); Tosin Adegbite (Enyimba FC); Temple Emekayi (Rivers United); Andrew Ikefe (Plateau United)

Midfielders: Babatunde Bello (Akwa United); Philip Ozor (Enyimba FC); Maurice Chukwu (Rivers United); Hafeez Nosiru (Kwara United); Zulkifilu Mohammed (Plateau United); Chiamaka Madu (Rivers United); Jide Fatokun
(Kwara United); Kenechukwu Agu (Rangers Int’l); Joseph Onoja (Rivers United); Haggai Katoh (Plateau United); Uche Onwuasonaya (Rivers United)

Forwards: Abdulazeez Yusuf (Gombe United); Sadiq Abubakar (Enyimba FC); Chidiebere Nwobodo (Rangers Int’l); Promise Amadi (Akwa United); Chijioke Akuneto (Rivers United); Valentine Odoh (Abia Warriors); Andy Okpe (Remo Stars); Adams Yakubu (Akwa United); Godspower Aniefiok (Kano Pillars); Ossy Martins (Rangers Int’l)

Click on The Trumpet and follow us on our Twitter page for more:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button