Adeleke receives Certificate of Return as PDP Osun governorship candidate

Joshua Omoloye, Abuja

Senator Ademola Adeleke was on Thursday presented with the Certificate of Return as the flag bearer of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the July governorship election in Osun State.

National Chairman of the party, Dr. Iyiorchia Ayu assisted by the Deputy National Chairman (South), Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja presented the certificate to Adeleke as the party’s candidate at the PDP national secretariat, Abuja.

Ayu commended the process that produced Adeleke as free, fair, and credible while reiterating the continued neutrality of his National Working Committee (NWC) in election matters at all levels, The Trumpet gathered.

The Chairman said his leadership will ensure a level playing ground for all aspirants contesting any position in the party assuring all of equal opportunity.

He charged the candidate to commence the process of reconciliation with other aspirants that contested with him.

He told Adeleke not to see the mandate to fly the flag of the party as personal but as holding the ticket in trust for the PDP and therefore do everything possible to go into the election with a united Osun PDP.

The chairman promised that a strong national campaign committee consisting of vibrant PDP members will be constituted to converse votes across the 20 local government areas of Osun State.

Responding, Adeleke promised not to let the party down but work harmoniously with other aspirants and stakeholders in the state to ensure the PDP come out victorious.

Adeleke dedicated his victory at the primary to all members of the party in Osun.

He said, “by the grace of the Almighty, we are going to win and end the misrule of the APC in Osun State”.

At the presentation, ceremony were members of the Osun State Governorship Primary Appeal Committee who held a brief meeting.

Read Also: Why lawmakers fight for constituency projects – Lawan

The Appeal Committee sat but no appeal was received, hence the certificate presentation ceremony was held.

The appeal panel was headed by the chairman, Dr Iyorchia Ayu, the two deputy national chairmen; Amb. Umar Iliya Damagum and Amb. Taofeek Arapaja and other members of the National Working Committee while the National Secretary, Sen. Samuel Anyanwu served as Secretary to the panel.

Adeleke emerged winner of the party’s governorship primary conducted on Tuesday in Osogbo, the state capital.

Adeleke polled 1,887 voted from the

1,916 accredited delegates while 24 ballots were invalidated.

Sanya Omirin scored 04 votes while Dare Adeleke scored a vote. Though report had it that the contest was between Senator Adeleke and Prince Adedotun Babayemi while the rest four aspirants withdrew from the shadow election.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.