Umbro unveils 2021/2022 CAF Champions League final’s ball

by Oviri Kelvin, Sports Editor, Abuja

Umbro has unveiled its minimalistic design to use as the official ball for the CAF Champions League final between two Africa’s best clubs, Ahly of Egypt and Wydad Casablanca of Morocco, on May 30, 2023.

Morocco to host CAF Champions League Final
Morocco to host CAF Champions League Final

The CAF technical sponsor on Tuesday, May 24, 2022, highlighted that the designs on the flagship Neo Pro football has been enhanced with a striking geometric graphic.

Umbro stressed that the design was inspired by the triangular elements of the African Champion Clubs’ Cup in bold colours that reflect the vibrancy of football on the continent.

According to them, the 14-panel hand-stitched professional football has been designed with a textured Tejin microfiber casing for durability, accuracy and dependable aerodynamics, along with a layered construction and latex bladder for consistent bounce, air and shape retention; and bears the ‘FIFA Quality Pro’ designation.

In a statement by Umbro’s Production Manager (South Africa), Nicole Marcus, the football and its design is exclusive for such a deluxe event involving African topflight clubs.

CAF Champions League Trophy
CAF Champions League Trophy

He explained that the CAF-organised event competed by top African clubs has engineered Umbro to create a minimalistic football that reflects the true picture of the contest.

Read Also: Corruption in Passport Offices

He said, “A premier ball for Africa’s premier interclub tournament.

“The TotalEnergies CAF Champion’s League brings together the very best of African club football to compete at the highest level and we wanted to create a ball that captures the spirit of the tournament – the colour, the excitement, and the celebration of an incredible interclub season,” he added.


Umbro noted that official ball for the TotalEnergies CAF Champions League final is the third tournament ball released by Umbro in 2022, alongside ‘Toghu’, official ball of the Africa Cup of Nations, and the bespoke match ball created for last weekend’s CAF Confederation Cup final.


CAF Champions League Past Winners

Season Team Victory coaches
20/21 El Ahly Cairo Pitso Mosimane
19/20 El Ahly Cairo Pitso Mosimane
18/19 Esperance Tunis Moïn Chaabani
17/18 Esperance Tunis Moïn Chaabani
16/17 Wydad Casablanca Houcine Ammouta
15/16 Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pitso Mosimane
14/15 TP Mazembe Patrice Carteron
13/14 ES Sétif Kheïreddine Madoui
12/13 El Ahly Cairo Mohamed Youssef
11/12 El Ahly Cairo Hossam El Badry
10/11 Esperance Tunis Nabil Maaloul
09/10 TP Mazembe Lamine N’Diaye
08/09 TP Mazembe Diego Garzitto
07/08 El Ahly Cairo Manuel José
06/07 Etoile Sportive du Sahel Bertrand Marchand
05/06 El Ahly Cairo Manuel José
04/05 El Ahly Cairo Manuel José
03/04 Enyimba Aba Okey Emordi
02/03 Enyimba Aba Kadiri Ikhana
01/02 Zamalek SC Carlos Alberto Cabral
00/01 El Ahly Cairo Manuel José
99/00 Hearts of Oak Cecil Jones Attuquayefio
98/99 Raja Club Athletic Oscar Fulloné
97/98 ASEC Mimosas Oscar Fulloné
96/97 Raja Club Athletic Vahid Halilhodzic
95/96 Zamalek SC Werner Olk
94/95 Orlando Pirates
93/94 Esperance Tunis Faouzi Benzarti
92/93 Zamalek SC Mahmoud El Gohary
91/92 Wydad Casablanca Yuri Sebastienko
90/91 Club Africain Tunis Ilie Balaci
89/90 JS Kabylie Stefan Zywotko
88/89 Raja Club Athletic Rabah Saadane
87/88 EP Sétif Mokhtar Arribi
86/87 El Ahly Cairo Anwar Salama
85/86 Zamalek SC
84/85 FAR Rabat José Faria
83/84 Zamalek SC Mahmoud Abou-Regaila
82/83 Asante Kotoko SC
81/82 El Ahly Cairo Mahmoud El Gohary
80/81 Jeunesse Électronique de Tizi-Ouzou Stefan Zywotko
79/80 Canon Yaoundé
78/79 Union Douala
77/78 Canon Yaoundé
76/77 Hafia Football Club
75/76 Mouloudia Pétroliers d'Alger Abdelhamid Zouba
74/75 Hafia Football Club
73/74 CARA Brazzaville
72/73 AS Vita Club Kinshasa
71/72 Hafia Football Club
70/71 Canon Yaoundé Peter Schnittger
69/70 Asante Kotoko SC
68/69 Ismaily SC
67/68 TP Mazembe
66/67 TP Mazembe
65/66 Stade d'Abidjan
64/65 Oryx Douala

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button