Super Falcons to host Australia, Ireland and Canada at FIFA World Cup

Oviri Kelvin, Sports Editor, Abuja

Nigeria will play joint-hosts Australia, Canada and the Republic of Ireland in Group B of the 9th FIFA Women’s World Cup finals happening in the summer of next year.

At the draw ceremony held in Auckland/Tâmaki Makaurau on Saturday, it emerged that Nigeria will play Canada in her first match of the competition to be staged in a total of nine cities (five in Australia and four in New Zealand), which will host 32 teams – the biggest in the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup since it began in China in 1991.

Read Also: Akeredolu Mourns Late Ekiti Speaker, Afuye

Joint-hosts New Zealand will battle Norway, Philippines and Switzerland in Group A.

Nigeria, alongside USA, Brazil, Norway, Sweden, Germany and Japan are the only seven countries to have featured in all previous editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, between China 1991 and France 2019.

The Falcons were on tour in Canada six months ago, where they played two matches against Olympic champions Canada, losing one narrowly and drawing the other.

Follow The Trumpet on all our social media platforms for more updates:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button