Defence & Security

Shake up in NAF over insecurity, senior officers redeployed

By Paul Michael

In a bid to reposition the Nigerian Air Force (NAF) to effectively tackle the menace of terrorism and general insecurity bedevilling the country, the Chief of Air Staff (CAS), Air Marshal Oladayo Amao has approved the immediate appointment and redeployment of new Branch Chiefs, Air Officers Commanding (AOCs) and other senior officers.

Air Marshal Amao reminded the newly appointed and redeployed senior officers of the need to continually seek effective and efficient means of deploying the resources at their disposal in line with the reviewed NAF counterterrorism and counterinsurgency strategy.

He also charged them to be proactive and synergize with sister services towards eliminating the threats particularly posed by terrorists in the country.

Meanwhile, the newly appointed and redeployed senior officers are expected to assume their new offices on or before Friday, 5 August 2022.

Air Commodore Edward Gabkwet, Director of Public Relations and Information, announced the appointment and redeployment in a statement on Thursday.

According to Gabkwet, the redeployment comes 48 hours after Amao directed operational and air component commanders to maximise the deployment of firepower against terrorists and other criminal elements.

Read Also: Hungry terrorists slaughter Borno farmers for not meeting demands

“Among the newly appointed Branch Chiefs are Air Vice Marshal, AVM, Jackson Yusuf, formerly Chief of Training and Operations, CTOP, who is now the Chief of Policy and Plans, COPP, Headquarters NAF, HQ NAF, Abuja; AVM Oluwafemi Ogunmola, former Director of Intelligence Surveillance and Reconnaissance now Chief of Communications Information Systems, CCIS; AVM Aliyu Bello, former Chief of Standards and Evaluation, COSE, is now redeployed as the CTOP, Abuja while AVM Nkem Aguiyi takes over as the Chief of Air Intelligence, CAI,” he said.

Gabkwet also disclosed that AVM Hassan Abubakar, former AOC Logistics Command is now the Chief of Standards and Evaluation.

“In the same vein, the erstwhile COPP, AVM Charles Ohwo is now the Chief of Defence Transformation and Innovation, Defence Headquarters, DHQ; AVM Abubakar Liman, former CAI is now the Director of Space Utilization; AVM Hycinth Eze, former Group Managing Director, GMD, NAF Holding Company takes over as Director of Production; AVM Musa Muktar takes over as the GMD NAF Holding Company while AVM Raimi Salami, the erstwhile CCIS is now the Director of Strategy, DHQ,” he added.

He said the newly appointed AOCs are “AVM Precious Amadi, AOC Tactical Air Command, TAC, Makurdi; AVM Abubakar Abdulkadir, AOC Special Operations Command, SOC, Bauchi; AVM Nnamdi Ananaba, AOC Air Training Command, ATC, Kaduna while AVM Emmanuel Shobande takes over as AOC Logistics Command, LC, Lagos.”

Click on The Trumpet and follow us on our Twitter page for more:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.