FG reopens land borders three years after


After over two years of closing the land borders due to smuggling, the Federal Government has approved the reopening of the Idiroko, Jibiya, Kamba and Ikom borders.

The borders were closed on October, 15, 2019, but in December 2020, the Federal Executive Council (FEC), announced the immediate re-opening of four of the eight major land borders- Seme, Illela, Maigatari and Mfun leaving out Idiroko, Jibiya, Kamba and Ikom.

However, the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) in a circular obtained by The Trumpet and signed by Deputy Comptroller General, Enforcement and Inspection, DCG E.I. Edorhe, titled: Reopening Of Four Additional Nigerian Border Posts, directed the immediate reopening of the other four.

Read Also: Stanbic IBTC tasks SMEs on digitisation of products, services

He said all Customs formations and Joint Border Patrol Teams (JBPTs) should ensure proper manning in compliance with extant operational guidelines.

“Sequel to the presidential directive dated December 16, 2020 granting approval for phased reopening of land borders namely, Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari, I am directed to inform you that four additional borders have been approved for reopening.

“They are Idiroko border post, Ogun State (South West Zone); Jibiya border post, Katsina State (North West Zone; Kamba border post, Kebbi State (North West Zone) and Ikom border post, Cross River State (South-South Zone).

“Consequently, all Customs formations and JBPTs are to take note and ensure that proper manning takes place in compliance with extant operational guidelines. Above is forwarded for your information and compliance,” the circular reads.

Click on The Trumpet to follow us on our facebook page for more:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button