Enugu PDP primary: Okechukwu, Asadu lose return tickets

By Charles Onyekwere, South-East Bureau Chief

The Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) on Sunday conducted its primary elections for the positions of the State House of Assembly and House of Representatives.

The Trumpet had earlier reported that some serving lawmakers in the State lost their return tickets.

Notable among them is the Reps Deputy Minority Leader, Rt. Hon. Toby Okechukwu, representing Oji River/Awgu/Aninri. The party’s ticket was won by Anayo Onwuegbu, with Okechukwu condemning and rejecting the process.

Also in Nsukka/Igbo-Eze South Federal Constituency, Rt. Hon. Pat Asadu lost to a former chairman of the PDP, Engr. Vitta Abba. The medical doctor’s loss came amidst opposition to his fifth term bid, especially from the people of Nsukka Local Government Area.

Efforts to reach Asadu from Sunday evening, through Monday morning, on his mobile number have been unsuccessful.

Read Also: MNJTF arrests 30 persons fishing, farming around terrorist camps

Hon. Cornelius Nnaji, Enugu-East/Isi-Uzo Federal Constituency and Hon. Offor Chukwuegbo, Enugu-North/Enugu-South Federal Constituency all of the PDP won their return tickets. Hon. Martin Oke, Igbo-Etiti/Uzo- Uwani and Hon. Simeon Atigwe, Igbo-Eze North/Udenu also won their return tickets.

It was a different scenario in Udi/Ezeagu Federal Constituency where a serving lawmaker, Hon. Dennis Amadi also lost his ticket. The Chief of Staff to Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Hon. Festus Uzor, had his way. Enugu State Deputy Governor, Mrs Cecelia Ezeilo also contested for the position.

Some of the House of Assembly results include Udenu LGA, Hon. Solomon Izuchukwu Onah, a serving local government chairman, Igbo Eze North Constituency 2, Hon. Clifford Obe, Igbo Eze North Constituency 1, Hon. Mrs Ngozi Ezeja, Igbo Eze South Constituency, Hon. Vitus Okechi, a serving local government chairman, Igbo-Etiti East, Hon. Ezenta Ezeani, Igbo-Etiti West, Engr. Chukwuebuka Ugwu.

Others are Nsukka East Constituency, Barr. Christiana Onah, Nsukka West Constituency, Amos Amadi Agbo, Uzo Uwani State Constituency, Hon. Chukwuma Ekweme.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.