Egypt 2023: Flying Eagles to battle Egypt, Senegal and Mozambique

By Oviri Kelvin

Seven-time champions Nigeria will square up to host nation Egypt, Senegal, and Mozambique in the group stage of the 2023 Africa U20 Cup of Nations finals scheduled for Egypt from 19th February – 11th March. The four teams are in Group A.

The draw held in Cairo on Friday evening also placed Uganda, Central African Republic, South Sudan, and Congo in Group B, while The Gambia, Tunisia, Benin Republic, and Zambia will slot it out in Group C.

It is the first time that the Africa U20 Cup of Nations will witness 12 teams, with the four top teams in Egypt qualifying to represent Africa at the FIFA U20 World Cup finals already slated for 20th May – 11th June in Indonesia.

Read Also:

From the result of the draw, the Flying Eagles, who qualified as champions of WAFU B zone, will play their first match of the tournament against Senegal, who emerged from WAFU A zone.

Egypt qualified automatically as hosts, while Tunisia emerged from North Africa and Mozambique and Zambia emerged from the COSAFA zone. The Gambia joined Senegal from WAFU A just as Benin Republic, who lost to Nigeria in the WAFU B Final in Niamey in May, joined Nigeria from WAFU B zone.

Congo-Brazzaville and Central African Republic emerged from Central Africa, while Uganda and South Sudan are representing East Africa.

Follow The Trumpet on all our social media platforms for more updates:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button