Corruption and Underdevelopment

EFCC arrests 29 alleged criminals, secures conviction of 11

By Paul Michael

Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has said its operatives in the Ibadan Zonal Command have arrested no fewer than 29 suspected internet fraudsters in a sting operation at Omi-Adio area of Ibadan, Oyo State.

Wilson Uwujaren, the spokesperson for the Commission, said in a statement on Tuesday that the suspects were arrested on Wednesday, August 3, 2022, noting that items such as mobile phones, laptops, two motorbikes, one i-watch, video games, and jewelry were recovered from them.

He said, “Operatives of the Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, on Wednesday, August 3, 2022, arrested twenty-nine (29) internet fraud suspects in a sting operation at Omi-Adio area of Ibadan, Oyo State.

“The suspects are Abdullahi Kehinde Tawab, Ayomide Alase Abiodun, Hassan Larla Olamilekan, Makinde Adebowale Saheed, Tofunmi Oyebade Segun, Rotimi Gbadamosi Ayomide, Igbamidun Joshua Olamiposi, Gbadamosi Samson Tobiloba, Qodir Ayoola Babalola, Frank Obi Ogechukwu, Olawale Abowaba Joshua, Dauda Kareem Oladayo, Hammed Dauda Akanji, Yusuf Akorede Abiodun and Haruna Adedoyin Kayode.

“Others include Yusuf Lawale Raji, Adejare Ayuba Olamide, Owolabi Gbadamosi Moses, Victor Salami Gbenga, Abdullahi Teslim Taiwo, Oluwaseun Abowaba Samuel, Alase Ayodele Philip, Oduola Kunmi Ireola, Ajayi Olumide Olamilekan, Opeyemi Samuel Enitan, Yusuf Ayobami Qudus, Atanda Jamiu Olamide, Ibrahim Bashit Alade, and Ilori Peter Oladapo.

“Items recovered from them include mobile phones, laptops, two motor-bikes, one i-watch, video games, and jewelry.”

Uwujaren added that the suspects would be arraigned in court as soon as the investigations are concluded.

Read Also: 18 suspected fraudsters held in Lokoja

Meanwhile, the Ibadan Zonal Command of the EFCC, on August 3 and 4, 2022 secured the conviction of eleven (11) cyber criminals on separate charges of fraudulent impersonation before Justices Olusola Adetujoye and Bayo Taiwo of the Oyo State High Court sitting in Ibadan.

The offences are contrary to Section 419 and 484 of the Criminal Code Law Cap 38, Law of Oyo State, 2000.

According to Uwujaren, Justice Adetujoye convicted and sentenced the fraudsters, Fatai Musbau Opeyemi, Ayodele Olumide Sunday, Oribolawa Idris Abiodun, Abdulahi Malek Olaniyi, Onigbinde Rasaq Oyindamola and Emmanuel Victor Mayowa to various jail terms; while Justice Taiwo convicted Moses Oyowevotu Oghenaire, Awwal Babatunde Arekemase, Adewale Ayomipo Owolabi, Yusuf David Olamide and Atitade Hassan Ajao.

The defendant pleaded “guilty” to the charges filed against them by the EFCC, leading to their conviction and sentencing.

“Justice Adetujoye sentenced Oyindamola and Abiodun to six months community service each; Mayowa who was convicted on a two-count charge bagged three months jail term while Opeyemi, Sunday, and Olaniyi were sentenced to three months community service each.

“Furthermore, Justice Taiwo sentenced Oghenaire, Arekemase, Owolabi, Olamide, and Ajao to six months of community service each,” Uwujaren said.

According to him, the court also ordered that the convicts restitute their victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

Click on The Trumpet and follow us on our Twitter page for more:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.