Ebonyi PDP Primary: INEC report affirms Odii as authentic guber candidate


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has affirmed the May 29, 2022, primary election of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Ebonyi State that produced Dr IfeanyiChukwuma Odii as the governorship candidate.

The development is coming owing to the judgement of the Federal High Court, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State, nullifying the rescheduled PDP governorship primary election in Ebonyi State and declaring Dr Odii as the authentic governorship candidate of the party.

Recall that Justice Fatun Riman had nullified the rescheduled exercise, saying the primaries were not monitored by the INEC. In an INEC report obtained by The Trumpet, the Commission concluded that the governorship primary election was successful.

The report dated May 30, 2022, was signed by the Head of Department of INEC Elections and Party Monitoring Department (EPM) in Ebonyi State, C. C. Nwodo, Anayo Onyejekwe and Oko Kelechi O. for the Ebonyi State team, while Musa Husunu, Esther Ofoegbu and Abiodun O. Lawal signed as Monitoring Team from the INEC Headquarters in Abuja.

Read Also: Ebonyi Guber 2023: I will win, APC flagbearer boast

In the report, Dr Nwazunku Augustine Alugbala scored one vote, Mr Nwankwo Fidelis Nwibo had one vote, Hon Ogbaga Sylvester got eight votes, Dr Eze Emmanuel Eze, one vote; Hon Christian Usulor, 9 votes; Chief Ifeanyi Chukwuma Odili scored 349 votes, Dr Andrew Sunday Opoke got six votes and Senator Paulinus Igwe Nwagu, one vote.

The report reads in part, “The Peoples Democratic Party organized its governorship primary for the purpose of electing her flagbearer in Ebonyi State. It was held as scheduled on the 29th of May 2022.

“The venue of the Governorship Primary was the PDP State Secretariat along Abakaliki / Enugu Expressway. The Primary was jointly monitored by the state and Abuja teams.

The monitoring exercise was coordinated by HOD EPM, INEC, Ebonyi State and the leader of Abuja Team. “A seven-member Electoral Committee was on ground to oversee the conduct of the Primary.”

Members of the Electoral Committee were listed as Engr Chris Okolo, Chairman; Olalekan Rotimi, Secretary; Barnabas O. Kunwa, Cynthia Nana Bala, Comrade Chidi Chidiebere, Mr Joseph Ode and Mrs Joy Odike as members.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button